Home > GPS Logs > GPS tracks in Saas Fee

GPS tracks in Saas Fee

One thing that I like to do these days is to log my whereabouts using the GPS device in my phone. I have a HTC Hero, and the My Tracks application for Android, which is made by Google, does exactly what I want in this respect. I used to have a Bluetooth GPS device, and log the tracks on an IPAQ in raw NMEA format, but the GPX and KML formats that are created in My Tracks are much more widely used these days.

I do plan to go through all my old logs and post any interesting results that I come across, but for now I shall just give a simple example of the type of thing I like to do.

Earlier this year, I went skiing in Saas Fee, which is in Switzerland, and carried my phone with me to log my skiing tracks. Over the whole week I tried to do all the pistes that were available, and enjoyed using the logs to see where I’d been, and how fast I’d been able to ski etc. As an aside, my max speed over the whole week was 54 mph, which made me pleased that I have started to wear a helmet!

Once I was back in the UK, I was able to load all the logs from the week into Google Earth, and plot them in 3D by having the Terrain layer on. I do plan to split the tracks into the various pistes and lifts that are in the resort, and colour them accordingly, but for now the plot of all my tracks can already be compared with the piste map.

My GPS Tracks from Skiing in Saas FeeThe Piste Map for the Saas Fee resort

Bonus points for any comments on which pistes must have been closed while I was there!

Update – November 2010

I have now gone through all the GPS data available, and collated it into a single KMZ file. I have split all the tracks into the respective pistes; and lifts, and coloured them accordingly. A screen shot of this data shown in Google Earth is as follows.

Saas Fee - Piste Map

If you would like to view the KMZ file using the Google Earth browser plug-in, or download the KMZ directly, then please head over to the relevant page on my webiste:

Saas Fee – Piste Map – http://www.drinkupthyzider.co.uk/ge.html#map

 

Categories: GPS Logs
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

